I am a qualified TEFL teacher from the Centre of English Studies in Dublin. I devote myself to providing one-to-one English language tuition to adult learners in my home.I accept all levels of competency, from Elementary to Advanced and I also prepare students for IELTS, including Academic IELTS and TOEIC. I teach Business English and Professional English. I have wide ranging experience in senior management roles in both the Irish Police and in the private sector in Ireland. I am in my late fifties. We as a family, have hosted and taught adults for a number of years in our home. We find it a very enjoyable and rewarding experience, where we meet adults from a variety of different cultures. We enjoy meeting new people from a variety of professions, sharing news and views and welcoming them into our home.

We live in a spacious five-bedroom detached house in Castleknock which is a leafy suburb in Northwest Dublin, 20 minutes from the airport and city centre. We are five minutes walk from bus and train stations which go directly to Dublin’s city centre, where every cultural, historical and social amenity is readily available. We are a short walk from Europe’s largest man-made park, the Phoenix Park.

I am married to Eilish, a practising Secondary school Teacher and a qualified and experienced TEFL Teacher. My eldest daughter Katie, 29 years of age, is an Assistant Psychologist, TEFL qualified and has just moved to London. Aoife is 28 years old and specialises as a Recruitment Consultant in Dublin. Judy, our youngest daughter is 22 and is currently employed in administration with a large company in Dublin. She lives with us.

Learners will have the opportunity to live and interact with a highly qualified, experienced and sociable family. We have a variety of interests involving the outdoors and we also own a lovely 6 berth family cruiser which we use throughout the boating season on Ireland’s major inland waterways. Our learner will be invited to accompany us and to enjoy all of what this can offer, weather and seasons permitting. Learners will be invited to accompany me to Rugby games as well as Irish Gaelic Football and Hurling matches (our National sports!). Hiking and trekking in the nearby Dublin and Wicklow mountains are one of my pasttimes, so if you are feeling energetic, bring suitable footwear, etc.

Full family